The Castel Sant’Angelo (Castle of the Holy Angel), located not far from the Vatican, takes its name from a miraculous apparition during the plague of 590 when, according to tradition, Pope Gregorio Magno praying in the procession, had a vision of an angel lowering his sword. He interpreted this gesture as the announcement of the disappearance of the plague in the region. In memory of this event, a wooden statue has been placed at the top.
The Castel Sant’Angelo has been transformed into a number of military and residential buildings for the Popes. In particular, it served as a refuge for Pope Clement VII during the siege of Rome by Emperor Charles V in 1527. Later, the Castel Sant’Angelo was transformed into a palace by Pope Paul III.
The visit to Castel Sant’Angelo can end with the magnificent Santo Angelo Bridge, or Ælian Bridge, built in 134 during the reign of Emperor Hadrian. It is lined with 10 statues of angels carrying the instruments of Christ’s passion as well as statues of St. Peter and St. Paul. They were made by the Bernini school.
The visit to the Castel Sant’Angelo and the Ponte Sant’Angelo was made on April 26, 2010.
Click on the picture to enlarge it and discover its caption.